MANNERS MATTER

As parents, we’re forever prompting our kids – “What do you say to the nice lady?” “What’s the magic word?” “Don’t forget to thank his parents for inviting you over…” “Did I hear you say excuse me?” – and, if you’re like me, you’re hoping and praying that all this nagging pays off; That when you’re not around, your son or daughter remembers his or her manners and does you proud.

And this goes for any kid – on the spectrum or not.

In the quiet hours my mind finds lots to worry about. Will my son find a girlfriend someday? Will he be a gentleman and a gentle man with her? When he’s out with friends will he still respect his elders? Will he stop to hold the door open for a man with a cane or a woman with a stroller?

Well, yesterday in the market, my son put at least one of my worries to rest. A woman was pulling an ice cream container out of the freezer case and it slipped out of her hands. Before I could utter a word he swooped in and picked it up for her and kept on walking. Be still my heart.

I praised him for his act of kindness and he simply shrugged and said, “Well, I didn’t want her to have to bend down to get it.”

I’m a happy and proud mom. Maybe I don’t need to nag so much anymore.   Image

Leave a Reply

