Keep Your Kids Moving!

I find it a constant challenge to keep my kid active. If your attempts at pulling your child away from the computer/TV are unsuccessful, try to think outside the box:

Shared interest—I learned early on that the only way I could pull my son away from his books [not that reading is a bad thing!], was to tie the activity into something he’s interested in. When he was young, I’d tie games into names of U.S. Presidents or states or cities. For example, toss the ball and name the next President, starting with Washington and going in sequential order. [An easy task for my son, who at 5 knew them all. I, on the other hand, used a cheat sheet. Shhhh!] Too much work? Naw. I was thrilled to see him tossing a ball. This can be adapted to any activity, any subject matter.  Image

And putting a start and stop time to these ‘dreaded’ activities can help with cooperation levels. Or attaching rules: 12 successful catches, 10 jumps, etc.

Physical activity is crucial for our kids, so parents, it’s time to get creative! If you have a successful strategy, please share it here.

Leave a Reply

