Energy Bites to the Rescue!

Problem:      My son needed a GFCFSF between-meal snack, to tide him over. And I didn’t want it to be junk.

Solution:      Energy Bites to the rescue! I whipped up a batch of these no-bake morsels of nutritional goodness and, well, everyone’s happy now.

Next time I think I’ll triple or quadruple the batch. [I have to hide these from my husband!]

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup rolled oats

½ cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips [I use Enjoy Life brand dark chocolate morsels; they’re dairy, nut, gluten & soy free.]

½ cup ground flax seed

1 cup coconut flakes

½ cup sunflower butter or any nut butter, crunchy or smooth [I use Sunbutter Sunflower Spread.]

1/3 cup honey

1 teaspoon vanilla

DIRECTIONS:

Mix all ingredients thoroughly. Chill in the refrigerator for half an hour, roll into balls and enjoy! Store in an airtight container and keep refrigerated for up to 1 week, if they even last that long. I store these in the freezer because my guys like them best that way—but it’s not necessary.

Thanks to Susan for the idea! xoxo

One response to “Energy Bites to the Rescue!

  1. Nice.

    -Mike

    From: autismresourcemom <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: autismresourcemom <comment+pdo0fyt3w-vsv6racp_ln1x@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Thursday, April 7, 2016 at 8:16 PM To: Mike Smith <mike@beardboy.com> Subject: [New post] Energy Bites to the Rescue!

    arm2012 posted: “Problem: My son needed a GFCFSF between-meal snack, to tide him over. And I didn’t want it to be junk. Solution: Energy Bites to the rescue! I whipped up a batch of these no-bake morsels of nutritional goodness and, well, everyone’s happy now. N”

Leave a Reply

